Illamasqua Skin Base foundation.

Today I will be reviewing the Skin Base foundation from Illamasqua. I am always on the hunt for a replacement of my holy grail foundation (Mac studio fix), mainly for the testing on animals situation. This was next on my to try list.

ill3

When it first arrived I was a little disappointed at the size of it, although it is the standard 30ml it looks smaller. It comes in a plastic squeezy bottle with a twist off square shaped cap. This was quite pricey for a foundation. I bought it in the Beauty Bay sale so it had £10 off but originally it cost £35

ill5

I decided to look on the websites shade match list to find out what foundations I have that were similar colours and it matchds me to the shade SB 02 when I’m a Mac Nc15. This was totally wrong. This is a very pale pink toned shade which is the complete opposite of what I am. Still I persevered and wanted to try it and if it suted me i’d then buy my correct shade. They offer 26 shades though which is very impressive.

ill8

The consistency of the foundation is a medium liquid that doesn’t run on the back of your hand. I used the real techniques damp beauty blender and the expert face brush to apply. I much prefer the face sponge as the foundation itself was very hard to blend out so the added moistoure helped. The brush left streaky marks.  You have to work very quickly as it does dry down fast. The coverage is a medium to full but can look cakey quite easily. I needed two layers for a full face. It does feel very lightweight on the skin.

badr

(As you can see too pale for me. Just foundation on its own.)

I didn’t need to set this foundation as it dried down by itself and adding anything else on my skin would of made it look too dry. I really wanted to love this foundation but the finish looked so horrible on my skin, almost made my skin look waxy, My blush and highlight went on patchy and it made my pores more visible. Big waste of my money in my eyes! So I wont be repurchasing. I even used a moisturising base and primer beforehand.

 

Have you ever tried this foundation? Let me know in the comments below.

Thanks for reading.

img_8646

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

